The Jury

All award entries for the International VELUX Award 2020 will be reviewed by an international jury. The jury is comprised of internationally renowned architects and composed in collaboration with the International Union of Architects (UIA).

  • Juri Troy

    Agency: Juri Troy Architects Country: Austria

    Juri Troy founded his own office in 2003, Juri Troy Architects after studying at the Technical University of Innsbruck and the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. His projects concentrate on the topics; sustainability, energy efficiency and holistic building concepts. Therefor the use of the material wood plays always an important role in his work

    2010 he could realize the first completely carbon neutral house in Austria, that was awarded with many national and international prizes. In 2012 he was awarded under Europe's most emerging young architects - 40 under 40. Troy was member of the Art Commission as well as board member of the Professional Association of Artists in Vorarlberg and the Austrian Association for Architecture ÖGFA. Since 2006 he holds a lectureship at the Technical University of Vienna in the Departments for Architecture and Design as well as Spatial and Sustainable Design and at the University of Applied Sciences of Vienna, Department for Green Buildings.

  • Nóra Demeter

    Agency: Demeter Design Studio Country: Hungary

    Nóra Demeter was born and raised in the United States. She earned her BA and MA in architecture at U.C. Berkeley and Yale University respectively. She has been working in Hungary since 1993, commencing at the British practice Fitzroy-Robinson International, eventually becoming the director of the company’s Hungary office. Partnering with Gábor Zoboki in 1998 to form Zoboki-Demeter and Associates, her vast international expertise enabled her to establish the company’s basic operational structures, allowing the practice to become a prominent, professional entity, tackling complex local and international projects. The company’s most significant project, the Palace of the Arts in Budapest, has become one of the leading performing arts facilities in the region. She was President of the American Institute of Architecture European Chapter in 2016.

    Nora Demeter founded her own practice, Demeter Design Studio in 2014. Demeter Design Studio offers high-end architectural and interior design services. Demeter Design Studio is an architectural practice with international experience ranging from large-scale buildings to custom interiors. The emphasis of the work is placed on the quality of design, delivering elegant yet dynamic solutions, which take the human dimension into consideration throughout the entire design process.

  • Odile Decq

    Agency: Studio Odile Decq Country: France

    Odile Decq is a French architect and urban planner. International renown came in 1990 with her first major commission: La Banque Populaire de l’Ouest in Rennes, France. Since then, she has been faithful to her fighting attitude while diversifying and radicalizing her research. Being awarded The Golden Lion of Architecture during the Venice Biennale in 1996 acknowledged her early and unusual career. Other than just a style, an attitude or a process, Odile Decq’s work materializes a complete universe that embraces urban planning, architecture, design and art. Her multidisciplinary approach was recently recognized with the Jane Drew Prize in 2016, and she was honored with Architizer’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017 for her pioneering work, but also her engagement and contribution to the debate on architecture.

    Odile Decq has been teaching architecture for the past 25 years. She has been invited to be a guest professor in prestigious universities such as the Bartlett (London), the Kunstakademie (Vienna & Düsseldorf), SCI-Arc (Los Angeles, CA), Columbia University (New York, NY), and more recently at Harvard’s Graduate School of Design (Cambridge, MA). In France, she was Head of l’École Spéciale d’Architecture (ESA) in Paris from 2007 to 2012. Following this experience, she created her own school in Lyon in 2014: The Confluence Institute for Innovation and Creative Strategies in Architecture, recently accredited by the Royal Institute of British Architects.

    In 2018, Odile Decq is invited to create two installations during the 16th annual Biennale of Architecture in Venice, and she will open a new exhibition about the Studio’s work at the Gallery of fine art in Ostrava (Czech Republic), titled “Horizons”. Amongst other projects, she is currently working on a residential tower in Barcelona (“Diagonal 0”); an office building in Paris (“Twist”); and an experimental house in China (“Flying Horse House”). Her most recent projects include Study Hall (Lyon, France, 2017); Le Cargo (Paris, France, 2016); La Résidence Saint-Ange (Seyssins, France, 2015); Fangshan Tangshan National Geopark Museum (Nanjing, China, 2015); GL Events Headquarters (Lyon, France, 2014); FRAC Bretagne (Rennes, France, 2012); Phantom: restaurant of Opéra Garnier (Paris, France, 2011) and the MACRO Contemporary Art Museum (Rome, Italy, 2010).

The jury process

The jury will evaluate the projects in accordance with the following criteria:

  • The work with daylighting as a premise for architecture.

  • How the project is researched and documented.

  • How the project addresses contemporary and future challenges.

  • The level of experimentation and innovation.

  • The overall graphic presentation of the project, how the project presents itself.

All award entries are reviewed by an international jury and their election of the winners is based on the above criteria.

Past jury members 2004-2018

All award entries for the International VELUX Award 2020 will be reviewed by an international jury. The jury is comprised of internationally renowned architects and composed in collaboration with the International Union of Architects (UIA).

  • Glenn Murcutt
  • Craig Dykers
  • Ole Bouman
  • Ahmet Gülgönen
  • John Pawson
  • James F. Horan
  • Kengo Kuma
  • Per Olaf Fjeld
  • Roisin Heneghan
  • Omar Rabie
  • Douglas Steidl
  • Hani Rashid
  • Enrique Browne
  • Eva Jiricna
  • Huat Lim
  • Francis Nordemann
  • Momoyo Kaijima
  • Natalie de Vries
  • Will Bruder
  • Magda Mostafa
  • Stefano Musso
  • Alvaro Siza Viera
  • Peter Stutchmury
  • Brigitte Shim
  • Juan Miró
  • Catherine Slessor
  • Omar Gandhi
  • Christine Murray
  • Zbigniew Reszka
  • Francesco Veenstra
  • Per Arnold Andersen
  • Carme Pigem Barceló
  • Rick Joy
  • Li Hu
  • Sasa Begovic
  • Martin Pors Jepsen